Here I Wait

As night creeps in and takes away day

I search for a way

To learn to live

And try to forgive.

Life moves at a racing rate,

But here I wait.

 

Morning comes with birdsong

And days so long.

When did the garden bloom?

And dappled sunlight fill each room?

The clock’s hands rotate,

But here I wait.

 

The anger numbs, the pain grips tight.

Tears fall throughout the night.

Waiting for tomorrow,

Days of grief and saddened sorrow.

A change of date,

But here I wait.

 

A year will pass and all I see

Are six birthday candles burning endlessly.

My little boy lost who can’t be found.

My tears seep deep into the ground

As I sit and it gets late,

But here I wait.

 

2 thoughts on “Here I Wait

Leave a Reply

