Empty Spaces

There’s an empty space at the table

Across from where I should be,

But I can no longer sit and face it

Because you should be there smiling at me.

 

There’s an empty space in the car now

A space where your car seat should be,

But I can’t turn my head to look behind

Because you should be there chatting to me.

 

There’s an empty space in your bed too

Where your teddies now sit silently,

I stand there and whisper, ‘Goodnight, Nedi bach.’

But you’re not there listening to me.

 

There’s an empty space inside me

A dark hole with no end I can see,

No matter how hard I try my tears won’t dry

Because you’re not here right next to me.

 

There’s an empty space by your graveside

A space that’s reserved just for me,

And one day that space will be filled up

And together again we will be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

