I Sit Beside Your Graveside

I sit beside your graveside and watch as night takes day,

My wish is just to lay there; with you forever stay.

 

I sit beside your graveside, beneath the star-filled sky,

The only word to haunt me – that pain-filled question ‘Why?’

 

I sit beside your graveside with sorrow-filled despair,

An anger burns so deeply because it’s so unfair.

 

I sit beside your graveside and wish to turn back time,

For I’d never let you go and you would still be mine.

 

I sit beside your graveside and together we can be,

My eyes shut tight – there we are, my little Ned and me.

Forget-me-not flowers.  Hayes, 15 April 2011.

 

 

One thought on “I Sit Beside Your Graveside

  1. My heart aches for you. I cry for you and your loss and hurt. Your words and memories and love keep him alive inside your soul always.

    Like

Leave a Reply

