Why?

Why does the day turn into night and night turn into day?

Why can’t I close my eyes and wish this emptiness away?

Why does the pain grow stronger, its roots entwining tight?

Why does my mind not rest at all throughout the long dark night?

 

Why did I let my little boy step from my arms that day?

Why was he snatched away from me in such a cruel way?

Why can’t I turn the clock right back for then you’d still be here?

Why as your Mam I didn’t know that I should keep you near?

 

Why couldn’t I foresee it? Why couldn’t I just know?

Why didn’t I hold on so tight and never let you go?

Why am I still here not knowing what I should do?

Why can’t my heart stop beating and let me be with you?

 

 

Ninja Ned

 

 

 

One thought on “Why?

Leave a Reply

