Skinny Jeans and Writing Dreams

I have never been able to squeeze into a pair of skinny jeans. I want to breathe easy and therefore find leggings and joggers far less distressing and sweat and tear inducing. And the same is the dilemma when it comes to my writing.

I work as a Primary School Teacher and am a mum to three young (very busy) boys. I have to squeeze in writing when I can. It took me 12 months to write my debut children’s book, which is publishing next year – whoop!! 12 months of getting up at 4.30 am every morning and squeezing in two hours of writing before my real life began for the day. Evenings were just no use –  I was so exhausted by the time the boys were in bed and I’d done the preparation for the following day, that I couldn’t even utter goodnight to my husband, let alone write a story. But at the end of those 12 months, I had a completed manuscript and I was elated.

This past year I’ve been on maternity leave and have been spoilt with having the freedom to write during the day – squeezing has been but a distant memory. I still write early in the morning, my body clock has become set on this and I find myself at my most productive. The difference has been that I haven’t felt the panic of having to get something done in those two hours, and not feeling devastated when I have slept ’till 7 on the occasional morning. I’m close to completing two new manuscripts and have tinkered with a couple of short stories. It has been bliss.

But real life is biting at my heels once more as I’ll be returning to work in September. I’m already feeling the panic of having to go back to squeezing my writing in. I don’t want to, but I’ll have to. I have a mortgage to pay, bills to chase away and three little boys to spoil. I certainly won’t give up on my dream of writing – I write because I love to write therefore I’ll suffer the squeezing and hope that one day, I’ll be able to make writing my career.

As to squeezing into skinny jeans? Forget it! Give me my joggers any day.

Hwyl am y tro x

Leave a Reply

