A Cheery Morning

Got up at 5.30 am and had a good hour and fifteen minutes of writing. Children got up at 7 and in my cheerful state I happily dressed and breakfasted them and got the school bags ready. Just for the fun of it, being one of those mornings, I emptied the washing machine, put the clothes out to dry, emptied the dishwasher and cleared away the breakfast dishes.

When husband decided to surface at 8.10am we were brushing teeth and ready to go, earlier than usual as eldest was off on a school trip this morning and needed to catch a bus (which I had reminded my husband of several times last night).

‘Nice lie-in,’ I said in my (slightly sinister I admit) cheery voice. ‘Come on, boys. In the car. Chop, chop.’

The words ‘chop, chop’ were accompanied by clapping of hands, which was followed by snorting sniggers from 7 and 4 year old and squeals of delight from 10-month-old who clapped his hands in solidarity. Left husband standing nervously in hallway and literally saw him jump as I tooted the horn and waved exaggeratedly from the car.

Note to self: Cheery me far more effective than moody-moo stomping around banging cupboard doors. I foresee a lie-in heading my way tomorrow.

Hwyl am y tro x

Leave a Reply

